Point-to-Point Pony Racing

Point-to-Point Pony Racing is the bread and butter of the sport. Taking place most weekends from February to early June, over 70 Point-to-Points stage more than 160 Pony Races throughout the country.

Point-to-Point Pony Races are organised by the PRA’s Point-to-Point Pony Racing Committee. The races are run under the PRA regulations.  Races are run from January – May at Point-to-Point Fixtures across the country.

For information on Point-to-Point Pony Racing contact Lucy Felton.

Click here for the 2021 Careers in Racing & Treehouse Sporting Colours Point-to-Point Pony Racing Season Guide. This booklet was designed to help riders and their families find out more about Point-to-Point Pony Racing.




The structure of the Point-to-Point Pony Racing Calendar is based on the official Point-to-Point Racing Fixture list and is based on the 13 regions known as “Areas” within the country with each Area having a pony racing organiser.

The Areas are:
• North
• North West
• Yorkshire
• Midlands
• Welsh Borders
• West Wales
• South Wales & Monmouthshire
• West Midlands
• South Midlands
• Wessex
• Devon & Cornwall
• South East
• East Anglia

Point-to-Point Pony Races are organised on behalf of the PRA by the Point-to-Point Pony Racing Committee with Area Organisers responsible for the running of Pony Races each day.

These fixtures are the next step up from Pony Club Racedays. There is a choice of race type to choose from i.e. Novice, Conditions and Open races thus giving everyone a chance from the less experienced / competitive to those with more experience on the more competitive ponies. A number of Areas also run local championships and awards for riders in their area and there is also a National Championship for both 138cms & 148cms Riders which is based on a points system and announced at the end of each season.

Ponies and riders must qualify to compete in Point-to-Point Pony Races. To see if you are qualified click here.

N.B. If you want to try pony racing for the first time you do not have to have a height certificate for your pony. You however MUST be a registered member of the Pony Racing Authority (PRA) and register your pony.

Graduates from pony racing will receive free Point-to-Point Owners’ and Riders’ Association (PPORA) membership for their first season. Visit www.ppora.co.uk for more information.


Please note that when a meeting has to abandon i.e. can’t rearrange entry fees are refunded less a £2.50 admin / stripe payment fee.

When an entry is made in error or a request to withdraw before an entries closing deadline, the entry fee less £1 is refunded.

Entry Fees will not be refunded following the closing deadline should the combination declare as a non-runner in the run up to the race.