Celebrating the 2018 PRA Awards

2018 PRA Awards held at Cheltenham Racecourse


We had a very well attended Awards lunch at Cheltenham Racecourse on Sunday 25th November. We were very privileged to have a fabulous behind the scenes tour of the Racecourse, including the Stables and Royal Box, with Simon Claisse and Edward Gillespie.

The day gave everyone a chance to catch up without ponies getting in the way and a chance to thank our sponsors. Cheltenham gave every PRA member attending a fabulous goody bag and Mangan & Webb saddlers included a £50 voucher towards their racing saddles. So everyone was a Winner!

2018 Award Winners

Winner of 138 cm Final – Harry Davies riding Little Anne

Winner of 148cm Final – Charlie Sprake riding Mr Marshall

Winner of 138 cm Conditions’ Final – Freddie Gingell riding Wee Anthony

Winner of 148 cm Conditions’ Final – Lily Lewellyn riding Class Act Annie

2018 138cm RaceTech Leading Rider and pony combination

Daniel Ellis and Clear the Track

2018 148cm RaceTech Leading Rider and pony combination

Charlie Sprake and Mr Marshall
Violet Barton and Miss Wonderful

2018 138 cm Rose Bengal Scholarship Winner

Harry Davies

Runner Up

Jack Osborne

2018 148cm Rose Bengal Scholarship Winner

Minty Bloss

Runners Up

Jess Llewellyn
Megan Bevan

Amateur Jockey Association Best Turned Out Overall

138 cm Winner

Poppy Scott

148 cm Joint Winners

Alfie Godfrey
Benoit de la Sayette

The Chiumbo Endeavour Award

(In memory of a fantastic racing pony now retired who gave everything and taught lots of children about pony racing awarded to a jockey who has shown great commitment throughout the season both on and off their pony)

138 cm Winner

Charlie Clarke

148 cm Winner

Molly Burton

The Most Widely Travelled


Minty Bloss

Joint Runners Up

Will Featherstone
Poppy Scott

CareersinRacing Diary Competition

(for the best account of their training schedule, participation and future plans)

138 cm Winner

Kelsie Bielby

138 cm Runners Up

Rupert Wilks
Benjamin Rogers

148 cm Joint Winners

Minty Bloss
Oscar Palmer

148 cm Runners Up

Alice Cooke
Harvey Poole

RaceTech Leading Point to Point Pony Racing Rider

Edward Vaughan

Most stand out Point-to-Point Pony Racing rider of the season

Kelsie Bielby

Northern Awards

148cm Winner

Archie Frank won both leading P2P award and the overall awards

138cm Winner

Elliot Stockwell won both leading P2P and overall awards.

Leading points scorer in Scotland

Sarah Longthorn

Most improved

Shay Farmer

Services to Pony Racing

Patrick and Julie Scott