Fantastic Evening for Pony Racing Graduates at the 25th Anniversary Stobart Lester’s

The prestigious accolades were awarded at the 25th Anniversary Stobart Lester’s on the 22nd December at a glittering awards night celebrating the achievements of Jockeys from Britain in 2015.

Rounding off a fantastic year after graduating from Pony Racing in 2014, Tom Marquand picked up the Racing Excellence Apprentice of the Year Award to add to the Stobart Apprentice Title and his shortlisting for the top three for the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year.

Sean Bowen also a recent graduated from Pony Racing picked up two awards, one for Conditional Jockey of the Year Award after becoming Champion Conditional Jockey in 2015 as well as The Jump Ride of the Year Award, for his ride on Just A Par at Sandown in April.

With lots of graduates finishing Pony Racing this year, we look forward to seeing some of the new talent coming through into the sport in 2016 and beyond!

Tom Marquand makes final three for YSPOTY

It may seem a long time ago when Tom Marquand was crowned Champion Apprentice at the end of the Flat Racing Season, but now the Pony Racing Graduate is in line for another award after making the final three for BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year.

The 17-year-old’s achievements were recognised by the wider sporting world last month when he was nominated alongside nine other athletes from a wide range of sports and there was further reason to celebrate on Thursday evening when he joined para-swimmer Tully Kearney and gymnast Ellie Downie in the final trio announced live on CBBC’s Blue Peter on Thursday.

Tom said:

“It’s amazing to think that just two years ago I was still firing myself around Point-to- Point tracks on racing ponies with a dream of making a career as a jockey.

Reflecting back on the time I spent pony racing it has proved to be an essential part of my preparation to come to the stage where I am in a position to be considered towards such a prestigious award. I can’t be thank everyone enough for helping and supporting me from the earlier years up to this point in time.”

The Charles Owen Finals

Since the end of March 2015 the Charles Owen Racecourse Series has featured on many racecourses around the country, with jockeys aiming to secure as many points as possible to qualify for the prestigious finals, this year kindly hosted by Aintree Racecourse.

Both Finals were tightly contested races with the top ponies battling out for both race wins and also points towards the Leading Pony title. After 8 wins from 8 races, Sophie Smith was one of the leading favourites to claim the 138cm title with her pony Push The Button, but sharing the top in the Leading Pony table was Tyler Heard with the Jobs Not Straight.

The 148cm race was also going to be a memorable race for many of the jockeys before they graduated from Pony Racing. James Bowen with Cudlic Verona went into the race as winners of the Leading Pony Title and as partnership that have not finished outside the top two in qualifying races. But there was going to be tough competition from Joshua Bryan (Follow the Star), Conditions Final winner Rachel Sharpe (Mr Marshall) and AJ O’Neill who although only had four runs to his name, included 3 wins.

138cm Final

  1. Sophie Smith and Push the Button
  2. Tamby Welch and Churchill
  3. Tyler Heard and The Jobs Not Straight

148cm Final

  1. AJ O’Neill and Miss Wonderful
  2. Joshua Bryan and Follow the Star
  3. James Bowen and Cudlic Verona


Thank you to all those who took part in the series this year and we look forward to seeing more new faces on the  Racecourse Series next year.